“Jack of all Trades” or My Path To Becoming A Home Inspector

The phrase “Jack of all trades” has actually been around since the 1600’s. Originally this referred to a generalist, an individual who could bring different but related disciplines together in a practical manner, even a renaissance man. This person was thought of in a positive light. Not until later did the addition of “Master of none” get added and the expression took a negative turn. When I became a Certified Home Inspector I realized how proud I was to be a “Jack of all trades” instead of up to that point being frustrated in being the “Master of none”.

I have found that as I rehabbed houses to flip, rehabbed duplexes to rent, worked as a carpenter during all this and then working my way through my home inspection classes that I love knowing as much as possible about how houses should work and be put together. Also, I love educating homeowners and potential homeowners about their houses and about any DIY projects which they have the desire to take on. I know when to tell a homeowner to call in a professional, but there are an amazing amount of projects that you can accomplish yourself around the house if you are willing to be patient and give it a go.

That being said, I started this blog to keep you from making the same mistakes that I see homeowners have made when I am doing my home inspections and to answer any questions from homeowners about their homes and their projects. Please post questions, photos, videos, whatever you’ve got for me and I will do my best to help you out.

Thanks and I look forward to hearing from you,

Travis “That Home Inspector Guy” Moyer

About Travis "That Home Inspector Guy" Moyer

I am a certified home inspector, rehabber, landlord, carpenter, handyman and generally inquisitive person who wants to know how everything works. I love to educate other DIY homeowners and potential homeowners about projects that they may be interested in.

Leave a Reply

