S.F.H. Seeks Loving and Inquisitive H.O.-January

Single Family Home Seeks Loving and Inquisitive Home Owner

This is my monthly continuing education post for you concerning a part of your house that you probably don’t pay too much attention to. Shame on you! People always ask me what I look for when I do a home inspection and this will answer some of those questions. What is this month’s topic, THE ELECTRIC PANEL.! Oh my goodness, how exciting! Or is it just me?!?! Oh, ok, just me. This stuff might not be very sexy but it is stuff that can be helpful. I’m gonna post a quick video for you showing (Very basically, mind you) what I look for when I saunter up to your electric panel to examine it when you are selling your house.

Let me say this before we get to the video. BE VERY CAREFUL! This shock is not just the “Ow I got shocked” kinda zap. It’s the “I feel like a fly in a suped-up bug zapper” kinda shock which can happen if you are not careful. Do not touch your panel if you have a wet basement and you are standing in a puddle, always a good rule of thumb. Another is, when you go up to your panel and go to touch the cover, touch it with the BACK of your right hand. That way if it is energized, first of all, you will clench your hand into a fist instead of possibly latching on to the panel and getting stuck there. The second reason is that if it is energized the electric will travel down the right side of your body away from your heart. I know I sound like a worry-wort Mom but if you had seen some of the panels I have come across, you would understand. And besides, I worry about my dear readers out there. If I lose ya, who’s gonna read my silly blog?

Here we go! Enjoy and thanks for watching/reading,

That Home Inspector Guy

BTW, be gentle with me and my video. I just bought the camera and am still figuring out all the bells and whistles but hey, at least it’s good for a laugh! 🙂

About Travis "That Home Inspector Guy" Moyer

I am a certified home inspector, rehabber, landlord, carpenter, handyman and generally inquisitive person who wants to know how everything works. I love to educate other DIY homeowners and potential homeowners about projects that they may be interested in.

One comment

  1. Hi Travis! Great post! Timely for us as we’re considering selling/buying in the next 9-12 months. As we’re preparing our home, can you do a blog post on the top 10 things to check out in preparation for an Inspector?
    Thanks!
    Brent & Lisa

Leave a Reply

